Testimonial

  • Home
  • Submit testimonial
You Are Here:

Testimonials

September 2018

MAGNIFICENT FRENCH CHATEAU!

My wife and I spent two weeks at the Chateau for a family vacation in September, and we had a wonderful time. We had 15 persons at the Chateau the first week, and 10 the second week. Everything you see on the HomeAway website is accurately depicted---the spacious and beautifully decorated rooms, the gourmet kitchen, the pool and outdoor entertainment area--all just marvelous.

The property is situated in the heart of the town of Chalus and is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. We arranged to have two catered dinners at the Chateau provided by Michelin chef Alain Moreau, which were fantastic.

Thank-you Robert and Liane for making our vacation so enjoyable.

Name supplied

 

August 2018

A truly delightful house to stay in, which gave us all we could have asked for. Flawless.

The house is lovely - immaculate and so well decorated, with delightful and very thoughtful touches everywhere. It absolutely lives up to the website photographs.

The rooms are large and elegant. We found the sitting room peaceful and restful, and the dining room very special. The bedrooms are very spacious and one can just settle down and luxuriate in them. The showers are really good, with lots of hot water. The kitchen is nice and big, which made it very easy for several of us to be in it at the same time, and it is excellently appointed.

The garden is super. The swimming pool is just the right size and temperature. Our 5 'children' brought all 5 of our grandchildren - who were in and out of the pool all day long, and we adults were too. My wife and our daughters spent a great deal of time on the sun-beds, which are top-notch by the way, very comfortable and flexible. We all loved the soft seating at the end of the pool, where we ended up at the end of almost every day.

We ate every lunch but one at the table in the garden, and the barbecues tended to be there too! The table is square, which brings everyone so much closer together, and involves everyone in the conversations. That shape of table unexpectedly increased the warmth and affection - which our family prizes and values greatly.

We barbecued a lot. We ate out thrice - the Relais was our preferred place and is very traditional. We went as a family of 16, and they were very happy to set up a table in their garden. Sax'o serves good French fare too, and we liked it, though they would not cater for us all at one sitting. Hotel du Centre coped well with all 16 of us, but it is changing hands (if he manages to sell it) .

The area is lovely - the run down from Limoges airport takes one through splendid green rolling countryside. We 'did' a few castles, some of us got into Karting which was a lot of fun. We would have done some fishing, but ran out of time.

Chalus is a little gem. It has the things you need, but is small enough to get round easily, and the house location means you can pop out in the morning for croissants and bread before breakfast. Great.

Robert and Liane are a real pleasure to meet and could not have been more helpful - many thanks to you both! You have done a fabulous job of renovating the Manor. We certainly would love to return.

Andrew Main - Bournemouth, England

 

July 2018

Just book it!

Just book it, you will be so pleased that you did. A beautiful house, spacious and well equipped, with a glorious pool and garden. We were three generations of family of all ages and the property catered for us all. Charming welcoming hosts, with a spotless well presented property. We all loved it!!!

Elizabeth - England

 

July 2018

Privacy, comfort, equipment, tidiness, classy designed rooms, proximity to an authentic village

Outstanding place for a large family of 14 with parents, 4 adult couples and 4 grand children. We enjoyed everything and every second.

Rik Dobelemer - Belgium

 

July 2018

Even better than the pictures!

This entirely renovated small castle is absolutely amazing! My wife and I celebrated our 65th birthday with our 5 children and spouses + one grandchild + 3 extended family members for a total of 16 people. More than enough space for everyone! Impeccably clean property, a dream kitchen (each couple was responsible for cooking one of the evening meals so it was TRULY a holiday for everyone!), living room that was large enough for everyone to watch the world cup matches, enough chairs and plush beach towels for everyone to enjoy the pool and sunbathing (we were so lucky as we had 7 perfect sunny days!). As a bonus, we accepted Robert and Leanne's offer who arranged for a memorable celebratory 6 course dinner paired with wines prepared by Alain Moreau, a one star Michelin Chef from Limoges (for a reasonable cost). Thank you so much Robert and Leanne. Your chateau is an absolute gem and we could not have dreamed of a nicer place for our special family reunion!

Simon and Anne Carrette - Toronto, Canada

 

June 2018

This place is exactly as it appears in the pictures and lacks for nothing in anyway - Five Stars

We had a group of Thirteen adults staying at Chauls for a week. No corners have been cut by the owners to ensure that every possible need is met. All the things such as wine glasses and plates are provided in abundance and the fully equipped kitchen made preparing meals easy Chalus is a great location for exploring the region and returning to Plantagenet at the end of the day was great, sitting by the pool having afternoon drinks or relaxing in the lounge Nearby shops & a supermarket provide all you require with the bread still warm when you buy it in the morning Definitely put this place on your list

Janet Emonson - Melbourne, Australia

 

August 2017

Amazing chateau and holiday - Five Stars

Great holiday had in Chalus. We were a party of 10 adults and 6 kids (ranging in ages from 7 to 1). The house was perfect for the entire party and catered well for everyone. Finishing touches in the house were perfect. The pool and outside eating area was utilised to the maximum which was perfect when overseeing the kids in the pool. Overall a great holiday had by all

Mark Worton - England

 

May 2017

Sensational Manor House in Chalus - Five Stars

A sensational manor house in a quaint village. Beautifully renovated and impeccably appointed large house. We were a group of eleven adults. We ate breakfast at the manor, lunch out and dinner at the manor. Local produce was amazing and varied. Great area to tour central France. Extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and incredibly well appointed if you want to cook. A very happy experience from delightful people. We will be back and highly recommend this property - it's divine!

Fiona Cobcroft - NSW Australia

 

September 2016

Fabulous holiday accomodation

This property offered all the bells and whistles... We were able to entertain our family and friends in style... The pool and surrounds was peaceful with our children wanting to linger longer in the pool every afternoon of our stay The beds were super comfortable and the kitchen and laundry facilities were five star... This property gaurenteed our family had a restful and exciting time in Chalus I highly recommend this property to anyone considering a visit to this incredible region full of history, great food and wine experiences.

Meeghan B. Sydney, Australia

 

September 2016

Fabulous stay in an idyllic location

The property and stay was exceptional. The town is small and idyllic and a short walk to local amenities and surrounded by history and so many things to do. The owners have clearly spared no expense in providing beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms and the huge professional kitchen was fabulous to cook in and beautifully renovated. There's a huge dining room and lounge area in which to relax and unwind in front of the fireplace. The fabulous outdoor space with a pool and seating area was private and tranquil and great for entertaining. There are plenty of day trips and restaurants in the vacinity to visit and enjoy. If you want somewhere special to relax and enjoy, you won't be dissapointed.It was truly a memorable experience and we'll be back with friends.

Sionen Thorpe, Melbourne, Australia

 

September 2016

Idyllic

I was very lucky to spend some time at this beautiful chateau during September 2016. The house has all the charm of a french chateau with all the modern conveniences. Kitchen is large and cosy, beds comfortable and bathrooms with hotel quality finishes. All set within a large garden with a beautiful pool area. Perfect for those long sunny days. The area is rich in history with lots to see and do and convenient to access with airport and major rail station a short drive away. Robert and Liane are wonderful hosts with masses of local knowledge and more than happy to pass on recommendations for restaurants, items of interest etc. Can’t wait to go back !!

Catherine Wood, Sydney, Australia

 

September 2016

Amazing & Incredible

My family and I arrived at Plantagenet Manor and Wow what a unbelievable property. We had just spent 4 weeks traveling in Europe and this was the last stop for a little bit of R&R This beautiful Petit Chateau is located on the edge of the historic town of Chalus wrapped in history. The property is beautifully furnished, well equipped & incredibly spacious. The pool & BBQ area works well and our family spent most of our stay entertaining outdoors we had a week of fabulous weather for September and the pool was a cool refreshing relief. The property has the view of the old church in its sights and the bells frequently ring which is every French villages charm, we loved the village lifestyle and to be immersed in such a gorgeous property and part of France really topped of the vacation. I can only highly recommend this beautiful Chateau in this wonderful part of France

Oriel Zieton, New York, USA

 

September 2016

What a GREAT find for our recent friends and family vacation, our party consisted of 8 adults and 1 child of varying ages.

Plantagenet Manor has been refurbished to the highest standards, tastefully designed and decorated offering more than comfortable spacious rooms throughout the entire property.

We much appreciated the privacy of the grounds and its exterior and made full use of the swimming pool and barbecue facilities.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners Robert & Liane who took time to walk us throughout the property explaining the function and operation of the facilities provided.

We would have no problem recommending Plantagenet Manor as a marvellous base for vacations in this region.

Thank You - Robert & Liane

Stephen and Valerie Kot, Leeds, England

 

July 2016

Wonderful holiday chateau, exceeded expectations!

We all had a wonderful week's holiday in France in this beautifully renovated chateau on the outskirts of a lovely typically French town. We were four couples on an extended holiday in France and we stayed in a mixture of holiday houses and hotels. The property far exceeded all of our expectations and is far better than the photos that made us want to stay at the property initially.

We were met by the owners of the chateau on arrival and were all given a glass of chilled champagne and personally shown around the property and grounds. This was a very pleasant surprise after the drive from Paris. The chateau has been lovingly restored and retains many lovely original features such as the beautiful spiral staircase, but simultaneously has been upgraded with modern features such as a huge and well equipped designer kitchen, expresso machine, TV with English speaking channels and importantly fast and reliable Wifi which I had found lacking in other rental properties. There are three very large bedrooms on the middle level with modern four poster beds, soft down pillows and quilts and excellent attached ensuite facilities.

The huge master has an attached double size bathroom with a stunning egg shaped bath, double sinks and a large walk in shower. There are three smaller bedrooms, comparable to normal sized bedrooms. These have double beds, with two having ensuites and a third sharing a bathroom. There are two other bedrooms that appear to be for children with two single beds per room.

The ground floor has a very large and comfortably decorated living room with two huge leather sofas facing a marble fireplace. Next to this there is an expansive dining room with dining seating for 12 persons. The grounds are extensive, beautifully maintained and encompass a lovely pool, gazebo and BBQ deck. A short walk leads into town with a castle ruin close to the chateau.

The town has a large supermarket that sells everything you need to stock up the fridge, several bars, restaurants, bakeries, weekly market etc. The airport at Limoges is only a 25 min drive from the chateau and the motorway heading north to Paris, Sthn France or Spain isn't much further.

The owners went out of their way, ensuring we had a great holiday and provided information about the local area. They were very happy to assist us with anything we needed. I highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to stay in a wonderfully restored chateau, with great facilities.

Kate Paisley

 

July 2016

An amazing house, beautifully decorated with space

The property was in excellent condition, with lots of space and facilities that we could use- especially as we did a lot of cooking ourselves. I would definitely recommend the property- both to families and groups of friends- definitely a place to go back to. Many of day trips- and lovely food, and the market in Chalus was also fun.

Tine, Amsterdam, Netherlands

 

July 2016

We chose this house because it could accommodate a lot of people but was still in a town. Beautiful, gorgeous, comfortable, awesome house. Also, a pool! Weather didn't cooperate until our last few days, but we still managed to lounge around the pool.

Robert and Liane have done a lot of research and have a really useful guestbook with recommendations for everything from grocery stores to restaurants and chateaus, which was incredibly helpful. The large kitchen had everything we needed to cook in (helpful with such a large group!).

Town is quaint and safe. My 10 year old and 7 year old went by themselves to buy bread every morning and even did a couple of runs to the intermarche which is the kind of independence they don't have where we live. One highlight was our gourmet catered dinner...the chef wasn't able to do it but Robert and Liane stepped in and did a terrific job.

While no one has really heard of Chalus, it is so close to so many things. We took daily trips and evening waljes in the village. All agreed it was a great vacation.

Anne, San Fransisco USA

 

June 2016

Amazing French Chateau

The owners have not overlooked even the slightest detail. We had an amazing week in the Chateau in the beautiful town of Chalus. The bedrooms were amazing with the en suite bathroom looking over the garden providing the perfect place to draw a bath and completely relax. We loved winding down by the fire place at night on the aged leather couches and already looking forward to returning to Plantaganet Manor next time we visit France.

Mel, Lake Taupo, New Zealand

 

August 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks at Plantagenet Manor. The chateau itself is superbly situated in the centre of Chalus and is beautifully appointed throughout. The owners have indeed gone the extra mile to provide everything you would need for a perfect holiday. The chateau manager, Cheryl, was on hand at all times and catered for our every whim. We cannot speak highly enough of the fantastic time we had. To say it exceeded our expectations is an understatement. We would 100% recommend this amazing chateau and would hope to return in the not too distant future.

Frank and Glynis - Suffolk, England

 

June 2015

Fantastic property with great amenities

My family recently spent a week at Plantaganet Manor in Chalus. There were 6 adults and 3 children in our party. The Chateau exceeded our expectations and fully lived up to the photos and description on the web site.

The property is well located centrally in the village, close to shops, bars and a short walk to the Supermarket. The accommodation is of the highest quality with a lovely large Lounge and Dining room and a large, professionally installed kitchen where we were able to prepare our meals. We often used the kitchen area for an informal breakfast or a coffee.

All of the Bedrooms are very large and have luxurious linen and we very comfortable, it was a pleasure to sleep in such a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom and en-suites are beautifully decorated and provide excellent facilities.

Outside there is a large pool, a decked family eating area and very pleasant lawned gardens to sit in and enjoy the sun. Our family loved playing in the very private and peaceful garden area.

The property Manager Cheryl was excellent, she provided information on our arrival, and when we needed her to respond to a couple of queries throughout the week, she responded within minutes on e mail and came over to advise us. Nothing was to much trouble.

I can't speak highly enough about the quality and standard of this property, it has been tastefully renovated to very high specifications, yet it still maintains a lovely family feel where we felt welcomed and very comfortable. My family thoroughly enjoyed staying in the house, we felt so relaxed by the end of the week and would have been more than happy to have stayed for another week.

If you are looking for a property that has everything a family or a group would enjoy then I would recommend this property in a heart beat. You will not be disappointed if you choose this Petit Chateau in Chalus.

Mark and Carrie, Cardiff, Wales

 

June 2015

This house in Chalus is truly the most beautiful star in the town. It has just been renovated not long ago, and both the exterior and interior were executed in excellent taste by the owner. The kitchen is fully equipped and spacious, and that is where we spent most of our time, cooking and even dining over there, instead of going to the grand dining room. Also, the location is prefect with supermarket and bakery within minutes walk. Cheryl Riley, the property manager, has been very helpful all the time, and the welcome hamper from Robert was very much appreciated.

Andrew Law - Hong Kong

 

May 2015

Hi Robert

Fantastic property with great amenities. Five Stars

My family recently spent a week at Plantaganet Manor in Chalus. There were 6 adults and 3 children in our party. The Chateau exceeded our expectations and fully lived up to the photos and description on the web site.

The property is well located centrally in the village, close to shops, bars and a short walk to the Supermarket. The accommodation is of the highest quality with a lovely large Lounge and Dining room and a large, professionally installed kitchen where we were able to prepare our meals.

We often used the kitchen area for an informal breakfast or a coffee. All of the Bedrooms are very large and have luxurious linen and we very comfortable, it was a pleasure to sleep in such a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom and en-suites are beautifully decorated and provide excellent facilities.

Outside there is a large pool, a decked family eating area and very pleasant lawned gardens to sit in and enjoy the sun. Our family loved playing in the very private and peaceful garden area.

The property Manager Cheryl was excellent, she provided information on our arrival, and when we needed her to respond to a couple of queries throughout the week, she responded within minutes on email and came over to advise us. Nothing was to much trouble. I can't speak highly enough about the quality and standard of this property, it has been tastefully renovated to very high specifications, yet it still maintains a lovely family feel where we felt welcomed and very comfortable.

My family thoroughly enjoyed staying in the house, we felt so relaxed by the end of the week and would have been more than happy to have stayed for another week.

If you are looking for a property that has everything a family or a group would enjoy then I would recommend this property in a heart beat. You will not be disappointed if you choose this Petit Chateau in Chalus.

Mark and Carrie Baker - Cardiff, Wales UK

 

May 2015

Hi Robert

I just wanted to drop you a quick mail to let you know how lovely your home is.

We arrived yesterday and already we have fallen in love with the house. Fantastic amenities and close to everything we need.. We will of course be happy to give you more feedback at the end of our stay but my whole family have relaxed and settled in very quickly, we are all having a great time.

Mark Baker

 

September 2014

The house is even better in the flesh. Right in the middle of the beautiful town of Chalus, with a nice bar, good bakery and well stocked supermarket all in walking distance.

The rooms are beautifully furnished, and the kitchen is very well stocked. The top floor is set up as a kids den, and was wonderful for the adults to know where they are and that they were safe. With a table football, TV and DVD player evenings we well taken care of kids wise.

A perfect rental. Fantastic in fact. The house has a real "wow" factor. Enjoy!

Jampal

 

August 2014

We have recently returned from a week’s stay at Plantagenet Manor and the house is absolutely stunning and comes equipped with everything you could possibly want.

Robert and Liane, the owners have thought of everything. Cheryl and Mark the property managers are also very nice and very helpful.

The town itself is so pretty and friendly. There are quite a few shops to look around and the local bar is run by very nice and friendly people. The chateau is walking distance to the supermarket to.

We visited a couple of lakes nearby which I would highly recommend. We were on holiday with 8 children ranging from 2-15 and there was something for all here. The lake with the zip wire was especially good.

Another touch I personally loved was a card and cake delivered to the house from the owners Robert and Liane by Cheryl on my birthday. This was so lovely to receive.

I would highly recommend staying at this chateau. Stunning is the only word I can think of when describing the place.

Jaemi Lashmar

 

August 2014

Beautiful, spacious property wrapped in history

This is a beautiful, spacious property wrapped in history. We spent a week here with my brothers and their families. We live in different continents and meet every two years, so, we work hard to find memorable, interesting places to stay. Plantagenet Manor exceeded our highest expectations. There’s a huge, professional kitchen for family meals and the a great outside pool to keep children happy. All the bedrooms are large with state-of-the-art bathrooms. Also, the property managers (Cheryl and Mark) are extremely helpful.

We really liked Chalus. After a week in Paris beforehand, Chalus was refreshingly low key and relaxing. It’s very rural and French, with small, friendly stores with limited opening hours – a good thing when on vacation. After visiting the hyper-touristy Brantome, we were relieved to get back to serene Chalus. If you to want to get away and taste a different way (and pace) of life, then, Plantagenet Manor is the perfect choice.

John Finneran - New Jersey, USA

 

August 2014

Plantagenet Manor is a splendid holiday property.

It is set in an authentically French town i.e not a tourist town that is a perfect base for exploring the Limousin region.

Our group which included children of all ages, thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We loved the kitchen and dining facilities in particular – perfect for those who like enjoy cooking.

The pool area is well designed and catered for all needs of the group. We made trips across the region and would recommend a visit to Brantome (Venice of the Dordogne!!)

We think Robert and Liane have done an incredible job of bringing this property and its interiors back to life and we liked the mix of contemporary and traditional designs.

Everything we needed was in short walking distance. Chalus is unpretentious and its café bars friendly and affordable.

Also worth noting is that whenever we ventured out we experienced little or no traffic anywhere around the region.

We recommend the property.

Mike Hughes

 

July 2014

We had a glorious week in Plantagenet Manor in July 2014 and I can’t say enough good things about it. The property is absolutely stunning – beautifully furnished, very well-equipped and incredibly spacious. The beds were really comfortable, the bathrooms luxuriously modern and the kitchen was a joy to cook in even. The property is perfectly located for shops and restaurants and yet has a real sense of peace and privacy in the garden, it feels like staying in the countryside but it’s just a 50m walk to buy the morning croissants. Cheryl and Mark told us everything we needed to know and were available at all times for anything we needed, they took the time to research a specific event for us while we were staying and went out of their way to be helpful. The technology in the house is great too – the wifi was reliable and fast and the TV had loads of channels. Chalus itself is steeped in history and is a really interesting place to stay, but we didn’t get round to doing half the things we intended to because we enjoyed just lazing around the property so much! We are already planning our next stay next year and can’t wait to go back.

Angela Young

 

July 2014

Our stay in Plantagenet Manor was wonderful. We are fell in love of your little castle. It was very spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The location is ideal: in proximity of commerce, restaurant and trail for long and beautiful ride.

I highly recommend Plantagenet Manor.

Guillaume ROUSSAUX

 

June 2014

"After my brother’s wedding in Paris our family went down to Plantagenet Manor for a 8 days stay there in June. Our first thought when we entered the house was that this is where we should have had the wedding party!

The house is huge and beautifully renovated. The kitchen has all the amenities one could wish for and is a perfect gathering place where one can make good food with fish and meat from the local supermarket or from the butcher down the street. The living room is big and has a big screen TV and two large sofas. A dining room with a long table which easily seats 12 is also downstairs. The two upper floors contains some lovely bedrooms and a gaming room. Great for those rainy days. The garden is the real gem here and is where we spent most of our time . Big outside dining area and a huge gas BBQ. Plenty of space for the kids to play. The swimming pool was a favourite among both the kids and the grownups.

We were very satisfied with both the communication with the owners ahead of the booking and with how we were taken care of from the property managers when we arrived. They (Cheryl and Mark) helped us with anything we asked for and gave us tips about restaurants and sights in the area.

If you are looking for somewhere to party this is probably not the place. Chalus is a quite small and sleepy town so you will not find any clubs or discotheques. For everybody else who want to spend a relaxing time in lovely France in a absolutely beautiful house it is very highly recommended!"

Nicolai Nishino-Ekeberg

 

 

 

Submit testimonials

We like feedback about your stay at Plantagenet Manor. Good or bad, hopefully good, we would appreciate you letting us know what you think.

You can submit your testimonial by email to info@plantagenet-manor.com and please indicate whether you allow us to publish your submission on our site.